WERE AM Mobile App 2020


The Buzz Cincy Featured Video
sheila e.

Source: Christa Ferr. / Christa Ferr.

By Radio One, Inc.

It’s no secret that recently America seems to have experienced a more visual escalation of social turbulence. Injustice and neglect for mankind has become commonplace and people just aren’t caring for one another like they used to. The disheartening state of America is quite apparent to many – including Sheila E., and she is doing something about it!

RELATED STORY: Sheila E. Still Skeptical About Facts Surrounding Prince’s Death, Reveals What She Misses Most

ICONIC: Message 2 America, is a politically-charged project whereby Sheila E. can now add “Social Activist” to her extensive resume of accomplishments. The Grammy-nominated artist has taken a durable stand in the name of love and is using her influence and instruments to unify, give hope, cause awareness, and spark conversation about what’s going on in our world. The track list for ICONIC, which includes the remake of socially pivotal tunes from back in the day, is a testament of the deliberate intent to stimulate the consciousness of its listeners:

  1. Funky National Anthem: Message 2 America
  2. Come Together
  3. Everyday People
  4. Inner City Blues/Trouble Man
  5. It Starts With Us
  6. Jesus Children of America
  7. James Brown Medley
  8. Blackbird
  9. One Nation Under A Groove
  10. Pusherman
  11. Respect Yourself
  12. I Am Funky
  13. Yes We Can Can
  14. America-Free
  15. What The World Needs Now Is Love
  16. The Ghetto (Bonus Track)

Each song was well-thought out and brilliantly contributes to a resonating call for oneness. Each song has its own weighty history of social impact, and combined together on ICONIC, they make you cognizant of who we are as a people. They remind us that while obstacles may be placed before us, we are equipped to overcome them. They remind us of our obligation to be respectful productive citizens that contribute to the advancement of society. They remind us of our Constitutional rights and the freedom and equality we are entitled to. They remind us that there is strength in unity. They remind us that, above all, Love never fails.

To help relay this critical Message 2 America, Sheila called for friendly backup and is joined by some pretty amazing artists, including the legendary Bootsy Collins, George Clinton and Ringo Starr, just to name a few. So you have incredible talent sending out an incredible message and with such synergy, listeners have no choice but to feel hopeful and encouraged while having an ultimate musical experience. It’s a win-win situation.

And winning is all that Sheila wants to see people do! She has such compassion and love for people with an unmatched level of excellence and it shows as she travels the globe spreading positivity. ICONIC: Message to America can almost be categorized as what some call in music “call and response.” The call for love & unity has been made loud and clear, and now it is time for the people to respond.

Well done, Sheila.

Visit www.SheilaE.com for more Sheila E. news, concerts, music and updates